The Shred option in the menu is used to securely destroy your physical mail. You can do so by selecting any item in your account, and then selecting the Shred button in the top menu.
If you have scanned the item, then you will receive several options after selecting "Shred": Keep Scan, Move Scan to Archive, or Move Scan to Trash.
All of these options are completely up to you and only apply to the scan of your item. The physical item will be destroyed no matter what you select. If you select "Keep Scan", then the scan will remain in its current location.
Pending Shred Requests
Once an item has been requested for shredding, it will appear in two locations: the location you selected (Current location, Archive, or Trash), and appears in the Pending folder as well.
The item will appear in the Pending folder until the Shred request is completed. All requested items are shredded in our facility once a month, to give you ample time to reconsider your shred request.
Canceling Shred Requests
You can easily cancel your shred request by selecting the item that has been requested, navigating to the Overview tab, and then selecting "Cancel Shred". However, once the shred has been completed, you can no longer cancel the request.
Storage fees are incurred for your item once the physical item has been in your account for 30 days if it is a letter, or if it has been in your account for 10 days if it is a parcel. If you wish to avoid storage fees, you can do so by either shredding the item or by having it shipped to a location of your choice. Please note that moving a scan to the Trash folder does not avoid storage fees. You can only avoid fees by having the item shredded or shipped. Once an item has been requested for shredding, it no longer will incur fees after the current billing period. You don't have to worry about when an item will finish shredding; once the request has been made, you can rest easy.